What You Need to Know About Florida Laws

What You Need to Know About Florida LawsIn most states of the United States, the age of majority comes at age 18 and Florida is no exception. Nevertheless, there are both restrictions that apply to those who have reached the age of eighteen, as well as exceptions to the rules for those younger.

Emancipation (declaring a minor fully operational):

  • In case the person is legally married;
  • In special cases at the request of a person who has reached the age of 16.


  • The right to enter into loan agreements for higher education expenses and other contracts for receiving financial assistance to pay for higher education by persons who have reached the age of 16;
  • The right to enter into any contracts by legally married persons;
  • A person under the age of 18 may still file a lawsuit for the enforcement of the contract, but it is not possible to file a similar lawsuit against a minor.

The right of minors to sue:

  • Only through a representative or guardian.

Consent of minors for medical intervention (treatment):

  • In case there is such a need.


  • In Florida, the minimum age at which you will sell alcohol is 21 years. Moreover, this rule will work even for emancipated citizens;
  • A person under the age of 21 who sat behind the wheel after drinking will be convicted of drunk driving regardless of the amount of alcohol in the blood.


  • The official age at which marriage in Florida is allowed is 18 years, however, with the consent of the parents, it is possible to enter into marriage from the age of 16. In this case, the person will receive all the rights and obligations of an 18-year-old.

Criminal prosecution:

  • Minors are subject to the same punishment for committing certain crimes as adults;
  • Some delicts can be committed only by minors (for example, absenteeism – a chronic absence from school, a rather unusual offense that was allocated to combat lack of education).

Picture Credit: witwiccan